Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

Warren Flight School by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

leave a comment »

099Warren One_Nikon D 200 Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr. JT4C DSC_0098_resized

Warren Flight School

Established – January 5, 2013

007Warren One_Nikon D 200 Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.PREFLIGHT INSPECTION WALKAROUND DSC_0006_resized

Rayniel Saldana does his walk around preflight inspection before working the controls of the radio-controlled helicopter.

Nikon D 200 Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

 

I never got to sit on the kitchen floor and run my own electric train set. My childhood ended too quickly. Years later, I got to buy a train to run around the Christmas Tree, but it wasn’t the same.

 

I didn’t get to spend hours working with the scenery. I didn’t have the opportunity to hone my skills for meticulous details by carefully matching the paint scheme to the appropriate railroad or box car.

 

I did get some great toys. I had a wonderful childhood. Sometimes, in life, it seems you seek out those opportunities you missed.

 

I never got to fly a radio-controlled aircraft as a child. My childhood ended too quickly.

 

Since I am The World’s Oldest Kid, I usually manage to find away to stroll past the toy department of a store. In December 2011, I bought a radio-controlled helicopter, but, the Christmas Day guests got to fly it.

 

The 2011 Christmas Day Guests did not return in 2012, but other activities of the day kept the family busy. A couple of days later, I decided my nephews and nieces and I would try to fly “Saldana One YF,” I began the refueling operation, which consisted of plugging in the charger and waiting for it to charge.

 

The model aircraft burst into flames and the aircraft removal consisted of it being moved to the backyard “boneyard” to naturally become part of the ecology.

 

The happy ending is a few days later, I did add a new radio-controlled aircraft to the inventory.

 

Warren Flight School set up on the Barangay Baras Road, January 5, 2013. The radio-controlled helicopter flagship, “Warren One” sat ready to fly.

 

Rayniel Saldana became my “Chief’, which meant I let him take control of checking out the aircraft and making sure it was ready for flight.

 

Like an aviation warrant officer, once the chopper checked out, he worked the controls and took it up for a “check ride.”

 

Vanissa Saldana and Junea Tanahale watched and took their turns.

 

Their “Uncle Sam” watched.

 

Double A batteries don’t last long; not even eight of them. However they “logged” about two hours of flight time.

 

Their “On The Job” radio-controlled “pilot training” consisted of getting familiar with the controls, which averaged about 10 minutes per pilot.

 

Junea displayed her “pilot’ skills by flying along the Barangay Baras Road and her ability to gain altitude that put the helicopter about 20 feet in the air and flying over my head.

 

The first day of Warren Flight School was an outstanding success.

 

FLIGHT PAST THE COCONUT TREES 100Warren One_Nikon D 200 Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr. JT4D

 

Junea Tanahale “pilots” “Warren One” a radio-controlled helicopter past the coconut tree of Barangay Baras, Leyte, Republic of the Philippines, January 5, 2013. Nikon D 200 Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

All the photos of this session of Warren Flight School can be found at Samuel Warren Picasa Web Albums.

Warren One

https://picasaweb.google.com/115529281361827670221/WarrenOneJanuary52013

 

 

Sam

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons license.
Leave a Reply

