Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

Singing Sensation–The Discovery–by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

with 6 comments

 

 

Record executives get ready for “The Voice”

 

The first international singing sensation of 2013, “a son of a Filipino rice farmer”

 

The Discovery

 

by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

American and Filipino record company executives wake up ! I have your first major singing sensation for 2013.

 

Chrismar Mora, 16, of Barangay Cameri, is a young man with a voice that will amaze record company executives

 

Ranilo Saldana, Chrismar’s first cousin, held a New Year’s Eve party. They plugged the microphone into the holiday karaoke setup. Years rolled away and youth returned compliments of “The Voice.”

 

Chrismar sang the words on the screen and his voice reminded me that I once loved and enjoyed listening to music.

 

I worked at KSOZ-FM in college. I “spun a few discs” back in the days of vinyl 33 1/3 and 45s. A few 78s got spun for the format, but we didn’t play a lot of these platters as a rule.

 

The National Public Radio station had a classical music format, which meant we aired The Texaco Metropolitan Opera with Tony Randall on Saturday afternoons. We aired more than our fair share of operas for even the most sophisticated New York City theatergoer. Tchaikovsky’s 1812 Overture still echoes in my ears.

 

We did a lot of classical, some jazz and some blue grass broadcasts. Our station manager had no great love of rock and roll, so the :Ad Lib Itum” time slot was late at night before sign-off – for an hour or two of rock and roll.

 

I enjoyed playing “disc jockey”, but I was a print journalist at heart. So, I put my third class FCC license in the closet and put on the US Air Force uniform.

 

Since retirement, I leave “music” CDs, sound systems and the gadgets to my wife, Christy and our nieces and nephews going through their teenage years. Ranilo;s New Year’s Party woke me up.

 

On Air”

 

I could see myself back in the studio, sitting at the board. I lean into the hanging microphone and reach out to the turntable with the first record cued up. I glance up at the clock overhead. I let the turntable go and the first notes echo in my headphones. I choose my words quickly and carefully, so I don’t “step on the intro.”

 

My words end, a second passes with the music and the singer begins to sing. Usually, this is the point, where you take off the headphones and drop them on the desk. This time, I lean back in the chair and close my eyes. The voice starts a video of memories in my mind.

 

Chrismar Natividad is a name that the International record company executives want to jot down on a notepad.

 

Record executives you should seek out this young man. He took the microphone to sing karaoke. I truly enjoyed listening to his voice. As we say, in the Ozarks:

He can sing.”

 

Christy told me he has performed on “Leyte Idol”. She explained “Leyte Idol” is an IBC local televised entertainment show broadcast out of Palo, here in the Republic of the Philippines.

 

Nonetheless, Manila and Hollywood record scouts, agents and publicists get out your cell phones and have your assistants call the travel agent to book you on the first Philippine Airlines flight to Leyte.

 

This young man can sing ! ”

 

The karaoke songs on the monitor were Tagalog love songs and English love songs and his voice brought emotion to the words on the screen. Your mind noticed the colorful video footage on the screen, but your ears locked on to his singing of the song.

 

His voice stirred my emotions and then eased into my soul to satisfy all my senses. His voice cleanses your soul I had the sense of being happy to be alive. I felt the feeling of life being lived around me

 

Taxi Time To LAX

 

Capitol Records, Artista, and Atlantic Records, you guys and gals wake up ! Grab the briefcase of paperwork and head for the airport. Here is a young singer, “too good” to go undiscovered.

 

On the way to LAX, you should make a cell phone call to “Billboard”. They might want to get a reporter and photographer on the same flight or the next flight to Leyte.

 

Here is a young man with a voice that will have young women doing the Beatlemania screams of their great-grandmothers at the airport and passing out at a glimpse of the singer. Think about the “Beatles” first trip to the United States when they got off the airplane and young girls went wild.

 

If you weren’t in the audience or watched the TV coverage then fire up your iPad to search it out on line.

 

Record studio executives in LA, you do not want to miss out on this young man’s talent. Book that flight to Leyte, now. If you hesitate, the record company executives in Manila, may hop a ferry and grab a fast jeepney to the province ahead of you.

 

Sam

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons license.
6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. whoah this weblog is wonderful i love reading your articles.
    Keep up the great work! You understand, many people are
    looking round for this information, you could help them greatly.

    affitto a Roma

    January 12, 2013 at 2:16 PM

    • Velma,

      Thank you. I appreciate the compliment. I look at what Life sends my way. I’ve found most events in Life have a story in them. If the story interests me, then, I type it up and publish it for readers, who I hope, will find the story interesting.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      January 14, 2013 at 3:03 AM

  2. whoah this blog is wonderful i love reading your posts.
    Keep up the good work! You already know, lots of persons are searching around for this information, you
    can aid them greatly.

    Anonymous

    January 17, 2013 at 1:11 AM

  3. The Toe on the map of Italy is the Calabria region. From
    simply elegant to breathtakingly grand, The Greenbrier offers an unparalleled luxury experience.

    Rentable heaters and dehumidifiers may also be used for drying out purposes during tank installation, commissioning and
    prior to their employment.

  4. His writings reveal his deep-seated interested in mysticism, astrology, out-of-body experiences and close encounters with God.
    Currently in the effort to make themselves better with every
    collection, the DKNY watches have come up with a jazzy Color watches line.

    n oriental donde el arte del perfume tuvo su punto de partida, esta familia est.

    Jaime

    June 25, 2014 at 7:19 AM


Leave a Reply

