Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

The Warren Christmas Chronicles

leave a comment »

The Warren Christmas Chronicles

DAYS UNTIL CHRISTMAS_JEWELRY BY CHRISTY PROMO PHOTO_1A_resized

 

Christmas Shopping

During 2010, my wife, Christy Warren decided to try an online business. She made jewelry to sell over the Internet. She had a shop on Etsy. Christy diligently worked using the various stone cabachons and wrapping them in gold filled wire to create necklaces and earrings. I would photograph the various types of merchandise she had for sale in her “Jewelry by Christy” shop. This photograph is an example of one of the photographs that I took to promote and advertise her jewelry. There are many “success” stories related to Etsy. We tried different cabachons. She tried to wrap the stones in different styles. I tried many different ways to photograph the merchandise. She did sell a few items through her Etsy shop, but, ours was not a success story. In 2011, she went “off line.” The photograph is a reminder that sometimes in life you try some business ideas and no matter what you try; sometimes, you simply do not succeed. Photo by Samuel E, Warren Jr.

by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

 

Christmas is the time of year, when writers write several stories. Often the stories range from holiday decorating and recopies to the “I remember when. . .childhood Christmas story.

 

I take pride in not being a traditional writer.

 

I try to write about events and situations that people don’t normally consider.

 

This Christmas season, I sat down at the laptop to write “a” Christmas story. I thought I would write “one Christmas story” and be done with the holiday.

 

I was not in a Charles Dickens mood. I started typing and the story started to expand to epic proportions like Leo Tolstoy’s “War and Peace.”

 

I have always been a “wordy” writer.

DAYS UNTIL CHRISTMAS_JEWELRY BY CHRISTY PROMO PHOTO_3A_resized

 

Unfortunately, the story was becoming an entity. I was beginning to feel more like an expectant father than a writer.

 

The story was taking on a life of it’s own on the electronic page before my eyes.

 

The story had begun to read like a child Christmas laundry list of toys beginning at October 30, 1955 and growing before my eyes to December 25, 2011.

 

I stopped writing and read over what I had written.

 

What had started as a story was now a three volume manuscript for Encyclopedia Britannica on the word, “Christmas.”

 

Rather than post my Library Of Congress collection of Christmas novellas to my blog, I decided it was time to cut, paste and delete. Before I hit the delete key, I looked at the writing one last time.

 

Sections !

 

I realized my fingers in “type” mode and my mind on “flow” had yielded different periods of time in my life that came down to different Christmas Days in different locations at different times.

 

Wordsmith Warren word work time !

 

I read over and decided the sections were a series of articles on Christmas through the years of my life. The end result is there should be something in “The Warren Christmas Chronicles” for readers with different taste in literature.

 

The first articles in “The Warren Christmas Chronicles” are: “Have A Green Christmas”, “Sammy, The East Texas Country Boy Workaholic,” “Opal, The Business Woman Welder”, “Opal The Hog Farmer,” and “My Lone Star Christmas Story.”

 

My faithful readers should check back everyday until Christmas for a new story in the “Warren Christmas Chronicles.”

Sam

DAYS UNTIL CHRISTMAS_JEWELRY BY CHRISTY PROMO PHOTO_3A_resized

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons license.
Leave a Reply

