Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

Christmas Ops Underway One Warren Way

leave a comment »

Christmas Ops

Underway

One Warren Way

banner 3_resized

Big, Bold, Banner

Ranilo and Rayniel Saldana, Junea Tanaale and “Aunt Christy” Warren created the “Merry Christmas And Happy New Year “banner, which is proudly displayed over the archway entrance of One Warren Way, Barangay Baras, Republic of the Philippines. Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

 

by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

 

I came into the world in Gilmer, Upshur County,Texas, United States of America.

 

The year was 1955.

 

I am a “Halloween Baby”, born October 30, one day before Halloween

 

My birthday is my important and favorite holiday.

 

I roll Halloween into the birthday celebration, so both days become my favorite Number One Holiday.

 

I leave the Number Two Holiday slot blank.

 

Christmas ranks a distant Number Three Holiday in my ranking system.

 

I quit getting “toys” for Christmas.

 

The “true” importance of Christmas ended for me December 25, 1967, my 12th Christmas.

 

My childhood ended.

 

Christmas Christy

 

My wife, Christy Warren, is a Leo lady, who loves the holiday. I stay out of the way and allow her to make all the decisions that relate to Christmas and the holiday season.

Christmas “IS” For Kids

 

My belief is Christmas is a Global Holiday For Kids.

 

Now, I just step back and watch the kids, “Enjoy Christmas.”

 

As long as, there is plenty of food and a hot pot of coffee on the table, then, I will have a “Merry Christmas.”

 

Christmas is a a Global Holiday For Kids and the second objective of Christmas is as a “Family Holiday’, in my opinion.

 

Christmas Ops

 

The Christmas Season is underway at One Warren Way, Barangay Baras, Leyte, Republic of the Philippines.

Watercolor of christy cuts Fotosketcher_resized

Commander-in-Chief Pacific Operations for Christmas

One Warren Way

Christy Warren carefully cuts out some of the letters for the banner. This watercolor of a photograph was made using the Fotosketcher computer program.

 

Commander-In-Chief Pacific Operations Christmas (CINCPACOPSXMAS), of course, is Christy Warren.

 

Christy is one of those people, who “believes in family.” She always does her best to “bring the family together.”

 

I know, Christy’s Strategic Plan of Operations for the holiday will focus on bringing the family together to celebrate Christmas.

 

Her “troops” are our nieces and nephews. It seems they share her vision of Christmas.  CHRISTMAS TREE LOGO PHOTO TWO THUMBNAIL

 

Christy’s “troops” built their own Christmas Tree to get the holiday underway. Their next major “Civic Actions” project was a holiday banner.

 

They have cut out the letters for the words “Merry Christmas And Happy New Year.”

 

ROY THE RHODE ISLAND RED ROOSTER THUMBNAIL

The Rhode Island Red rooster began crowing before sunrise – he always does.

 

By sunrise, Ranilo, Rayniel and Junea were working on the letters. Saturday,December 8, 2012, they missed the broadcast of their usual “Saturday morning cartoons” to began work on the banner.

Banner photo 1_resized

Ranilo Saldana sketches out the letters by hand on bond paper. Junea Tanahale straightens the banner on the all purpose dining room-board room- crafts’ projects – kitchen table. “Aunt Christy” pastes the W. Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

Camera in hand, I watch Christy and the kids cut out the letters for their banner.

I watch and thought back to Christmas Day, December 25, 1959, when I would tear through the wrapping paper and into the boxes underneath the Christmas Tree, of 313 East 26th Street, Houston, Texas.

 

I would glance up. Momma and daddy stood there smiling at me, sipping their coffee,in their pajamas and red bath robes. That “Kodak Moment” got framed in the photographic gallery of my mind.

 

I was a blessed little boy.

 

I was a spoiled little boy.

banner 2_resized

 

Write On !

Rayniel Saldana diligently composes North Pole correspondence based on the guidelines his Uncle Sam gave him about a “newspaper editor”, “Santa Claus.” and a little girl named, “Virginia.” Meanwhile, Junea Tanahale works around Rayniel to adjust the plastic string inside the banner, while the letters dry. Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

Mission Success

 

I watch Christy and the kids cut the letters with the focus and precision of a New York City jeweler, who carefully facets a diamond. They are meticulous and precise in their use of the scissors on the paper.

 

Christy has taught her “troops” well. If they don’t have the materials they need; they become flexible and find the supplies that will work in their project. The troops carry out their “mission objective” in style.

banner 4_resized 

 

Commander Christy’s Christmas Commandos’ Creative Craft

The troops carry out their “mission objective” in style. The red letters were first traced on white bond paper and then cut out of red Japanese rice paper. The white background is several sheet of “typing paper” glued together over a flimsy green plastic wrap that is usually stretched to create a string that is often used to wrap packages and boxes in local grocery stores.

 

My Christmas Wish

 

My Christmas Wish is Christmas Day, December 25, 2012 that the kids notice Uncle Sam and Aunt Christy stroll out on the porch to watch them release their “inner kid” on the brightly wrapped boxes under the Christmas Tree.

 

My Christmas Wish is the kids realize that their aunt and uncle wants only “the best” for them that Life has to offer.

 

It would be nice, if they only have to pause, long enough to capture a “Kodak Moment” that they can place in the photo folders of their minds to hang on to in the years to come.

 

Early in the morning, Christy and I will both be sipping from hot cups of coffee.

 

Of course, Uncle Sam will his camera ready to take a few snapshots.

Sam

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons license.
Leave a Reply

