Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

Word Warrior Warren Word Works “Black Market Movies”

with 3 comments

 

Word Warrior Warren

Word Works

Black Market Movies”

A SELECTION OF BLACK MARKET MOVIES_2508_resized

 

Arghh ! “Pirated DVDs”

This is a selection of “Pirated DVDs” and “Black Market Movies” bought in Manila, Tanauan and Tacloban City, in the Republic of the Philippines. You hear about “Black Market Movies” in Asia,  They seem to be as common as “rice in the Pacific” because they can be bought in public. The true challenge isn’t finding a “Black Market Movie”; the challenge is to find a “Legitimate Movie.” Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

 

The cliché about, “Once a reporter, always a reporter” is true in my case. I have always been curious. As a child, I would annoy my classmates because whenever I had a question, I would raise my hand and expect an answer from the teacher.

 

I knew from childhood I would be a reporter because I was simply “too curious” to be anything else in life. I grew up on the old black and white movies where an actor like Cary Grant would portray the crusading reporter, who would get the “Truth” and the presses would roll.

 

Naturally, reading about Clark Kent and the Daily Planet in the Superman comic books only added to my conviction and passion to satisfy my curiosity.

 

The honor of serving in the military enhanced my role as a reporter. I didn’t have the “Big Red S” on my chest, but, I had my own “blue suit” to serve “Truth, Justice, and the American way.”

 

As a senior citizen, I am still curious.

 

When I get interested in an idea, I begin researching it for my blog, which is, essentially, my “Daily Planet.”

 

When Christy and I moved to the Philippines, we had to wait for our “household goods” to sail from the United States. We both love movies. While we waited, I looked around to see where I could buy some movies. I began to hear about, “Black Market Movies,” “Pirated DVDs,” and “Illegal Movies.”

 

I never imagined finding a “legitimate movie” would be an epic quest, but, it became one.

 

In the Republic of the Philippines, the “Black Market Movies” are everywhere and sold out in the open in public.

 

The real challenge is to find a “legitimate movie or TV episode” that you can rent or buy and not end up with a “Pirated DVD.”

 

Fortunately, our “legitimate” movies arrived. But, when a new release hits the theaters; “Where do you go to buy the legitimate movie ?”

 

I still have no answer to this question. I do have a passion to try and find an answer. I have begun my research. Time to “beat feet to the street” and try to find an answer.

 

Is there an answer to the proliferation of Black Market Movies in Asia or is it simply a cultural business difference with the West ?

 

Now, that Christmas seems to be front and center, I imagine my research will have to go on the back burner for a few days.

 

I would appreciate my regular readers keeping this issue in the back of their minds,then, come the new year, maybe, we can have an answer to the issue or at least know that there might be some issues in life that society, in general,simply shrugs off.

 

BLACK MARKET MOVIE_PIRATED DVD_SUCKER PUNDH_2507_resized

Black Market Movies

Sucker Punch” The Buyer

You put down your hard earned dollars, pesos, baht or yen on the counter and think you are getting a discount or catching the movie “On Sale.” You get home and pop the DVD into the player and realize, “You’ve Been Had, Dad.” Instead of getting a professional movie, you get a video that usually looks like it was shot by a blind man and recorded by a deaf woman. Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

Sam

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons license.
3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Word Warrior Warren Word Works “Black Market Movies” (samwarren55.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

