Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

The Little Things Of Life “Washing Powders” Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr,

leave a comment »

 

WASHING POWDERS_3048_resized

Washing Powders

Martha Lou Marcum DeLong, my grandmother, back on the farm, near Abesville, Missouri, would call this elongated package, "Washing Powders."

 

In the Republic of the Philippines, this package is laundry detergent, which comes in a bar form. This long bar can be broken into about four pieces to be sold for laundry.

 

As a young single man, I did some laundry, usually I would save it up and let my mom do it, when I went home for a weekend from college.

When you move to live in a foreign country, the big differences are always obvious.  It is “The Little Things Of Life” you sometimes miss. 

In 1988 in Angeles City, near Clark Air Base, you could not buy ketchup off base.  In the Johnny’s store in Balibago, a section of Angeles City you could buy UFC banana catsup, but, not tomato catsup.  I’m a country boy, I love tomatoes in my ketchup.

Furthermore, the one crop that always put and kept Stone County, Missouri on the world and national map is the big, red, juicy, mouth-watering tomatoes.

Fortunately in 2012, at Robinson’s Place in Tacloban City, you can buy Del Monte and Heinz tomato ketchup.  You can even buy Folger’s coffee in the three-pound can. 

Still, I miss the big orange box of Tide on the store shelves. There are orange packets of Tide for laundry detergent in the Philippines  — it just ain’t the same. 

On the bright side, bleach still comes in the gallon plastic jug.  Nikon D 70 Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons license.
Leave a Reply

