Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

The Avon Lady

leave a comment »

Avon Calling. . .”

 

The Avon Lady

1_The Avon Lady_Nikon D 70 Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr. 0047a_resized

 

The Avon Lady of Barangay Baras

Republic of the Philippines

by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

 

In the United States, I remembered that my mother had bought Avon products. I remember hearing my aunts in Texas talk about Avon products.

 

In my teenage years or early 20s, I recall a fad in the United States were people were “collecting Avon bottles.”

 

When I would come home on a break from college or on leave from the US Air Force, momma would smile and say, “Here, son, I bought this for you from the Avon Lady.”

 

Of course, when I got married, then, it was Christy, who would say, “Honey, I got this for you from the Avon lady.”

3_The Avon Lady_Nikon D 70 Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr. 0004a_resized

 

Leneil Saldana looks at an Avon box, while Christy Warren reads the label of Avon shower gel.

8_The Avon Lady_Nikon D 70 Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr. 0006_resized

The Avon Lady” answers Leneil Sadana and Christy Warren’s questions about all the Avon products that she has to offer.

I would see a commercial now and then on TV. In surfing the Internet, I have come across some Avon web pages.

 

To be honest, as a boy or a man, I never really stopped to think about Avon.

 

Once Christy and I moved to the Philippines, we were settling in and this woman comes walking down the narrow path through the dense vegetation.

 

In the early days of our arrival in December 2011, I suspected the woman was another Saldana relative,on the island of Leyte, that I had yet to meet.

 

14a_The Avon Lady_Nikon D 70 Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr. 0037_resized 

  Leneil Saldana is obviously

   pleased with an Avon purchase.

The women were in the living room talking in Tagalog and Waray. Suddenly, my ears detected the distinctive English word, “Avon.”

The Avon Lady” takes an order.

19_The Avon Lady_Nikon D 70 Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr. 0012a_resized

 

If you move to another country, sometimes it is the most unexpected words and events that can bring a smile to your face.

15_The Avon Lady_Nikon D 70 Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr. 0024_resized

 

Leneil Saldana listens to “The Avon Lady” while Christy Warren performs a “smell test” of a scent of an Avon product.

Now, like Christy, Leneil, Vanissa and Junea, I look forward to the visit from the Avon Lady.

 

When you consider that you have moved half way around the world and live in a little remote section of the planet,behind rice fields, and way out in the coconut trees – it is nice to look up and see “Avon calling.”

10_The Avon Lady_Nikon D 70 Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr. 0048a_resized

 

 

 

 

 

Good-bye, until the next time, when you hear, “Avon calling.

 

Nikon D 70 Photos by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

Links

 

Official Site Avon

http://www.avon.com/

 

Avon Products Inc.

http://www.avoncompany.com/

 

Avon Philippines

http://www.avon.com.ph/PRSuite/home_page.page

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons license.
Leave a Reply

