Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

“Swamp Thing” October Creature Feature Viewing

with 18 comments

October Creature Feature – Halloween Movie Review

Swamp Thing

5307L

by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

Helen Of Troy is, according to historians, “The Most Beautiful Woman Who Ever Lived.” Historians love to point out that Helen was so beautiful, “Her Face Launched A Thousand Ships,” and, of course, started a War.

Historians are great people. Unfortunately, some historians are “incurable romantics.”

Since Helen Of Troy didn’t leave behind a driver’s license photo, modeling publicity shots of any kind, a family photo album, a voter’s ID, wallet photos, or a police mug shot – we have to rely on the descriptions of some historians.

Damsel In Distress

In my lifetime, I have seen many beautiful women. Some were simply walking down the street.

As a young man, one of the first women I ever fell “Madly In Love And Lust With From A Distance” was Adrienne Barbeau.

The first time I ever saw Miss Barbeau in a movie I could not take my eyes off of her. A beautiful Gemini brunette, who on the silver screen was the classic “Damsel In Distress” in the movie, “Swamp Thing.”

I was born in 1955, so almost all of the women I ever fell “Madly in Lust and Love With At First Sight” were Hollywood movie and TV actresses.

Adrienne Barbeau, plays the lead actress in this movie, “Swamp Thing.”

Obviously, “Swamp Thing” did not become a blockbuster that raked in the Academy Awards right and left. It is a wonderful movie. The script and the work of the actors and actresses in this movie helps to make the story entertaining and believeable.

Cinema Creativity

Keep in mind, this is an American classic that was made become computers. It is obvious that this movie did not have a big budget.

In the years before computers and Computer Generated Images, movie staffs like other people had to rely on their God-given common sense, creativity and imagination to come up with set decorations, costumes and realistic “creature features.” You have to applaud the ingenuity of the people who worked on this movie and made everything look realistic.

Obviously, in the Dark Ages Of American Cinema before computers, there were creative people, who knew “How To Make Things Work.”

Location, Location, Location – Imagination

If you have ever been around any swamps in Louisiana, then, this movie helps to remind you, “There are ‘gators in these swamps.” The settings and locations in this movie remind me I don’t want to be in the swamp, when the sun goes down.

In the spirit of October, when you dust off your “Horror” movies and start counting down “The Shopping Days Left Until Halloween” – “Swamp Thing” is one of the movies you take from your movie library and put in the DVD player.

If you don’t have the movie, break out the candy corn, go online and read the reviews for “Swamp Thing.” Then, you can go online an order from Netflix, swing by Blockbuster and rent. Or, if like me, you enjoy having your own movie library, then, you might want to see if it is in the October Horror movies for sale at your local Wal-Mart store.

Five Stars Family Creature Feature

I think “Swamp Thing” is a great family “creature feature” that celebrates October and Halloween. I give it Five Stars.

The Fog”

If you are looking for other October “Creature Features” starring Adrienne Barbeau, then, consider “The Fog.” This movie has a stellar cast like Hal Holbrook and Janet Leigh.

It is a ghost story that involves a ship and a small Atlantic seaboard town. Jamie Lee Curtis, like Adrienne Barbeau, another “Legendary American Scream Queen” of horror films, is also in this movie.

Significance of The American ‘Remake”

In American movies, if people like a film – Hollywood remembers and does “The Remake”, years later for a new generation of moviegoers. Both, “Swamp Thing” and “The Fog” have had remakes done of the original movies. Therefore, I consider “Swamp Thing” and “The Fog” to be “American Cult Classics.”

Sit back with your popcorn, candy corn and soda on the sofa and put “Swamp Thing” and “The Fog” in your DVD player for an October evening of Halloween entertainment.

Sam

Movie Links

IMDb “Swamp Thing”

http://www.imdb.com/find?q=Swamp+Thing&s=all

IMDb Adrienne Barbeau

http://www.imdb.com/find?q=Adrienne+Barbeau&s=all

Comicbook Hotties.Com Adrienne Barbeau

http://www.comicbookhotties.com/celebrities/adrienne_barbeau/

var flattr_uid = ”;
var flattr_tle = ‘“Swamp Thing” October Creature Feature Viewing’;
var flattr_dsc = ‘

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amazing blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really
    make my blog jump out. Please let me know where you got your theme.
    With thanks

    • Temeka,

      Mt blog theme is a basic Word Press template. The key is to select a clean design easy on the eyes. A Blank Bond Paper look seems boring until you put type on it. Run your photos big, which means use only good to great photos so you will be happy to run them big. If you write and publish long stories like I do check out publishing techniques like the use of subheads and “sandwiches”, which are quotes or a brief idea set in the copy between two small lines, thus, the text is sandwiched between two lines. Also don’t be afraid to use Line Art or Clip Art. You will be surprised the kind of clip art and photos that you can find for FREE or in the “Public Domain.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      October 18, 2012 at 7:59 PM

  2. Attractive part of content. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to say that I acquire in fact loved account your weblog posts.
    Any way I’ll be subscribing for your feeds and even I success you get entry to consistently fast.

    sellusedlaptops.us

    October 17, 2012 at 1:04 PM

    • Roma,

      Thank you for the compliment. You might just want to bookmark the blog. I’m not sure the feed works as advertised.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      October 18, 2012 at 8:01 PM

  3. After checking out a handful of the blog posts on your web page, I seriously like your technique of writing a blog.
    I book marked it to my bookmark webpage list and will be
    checking back soon. Please check out my web site as well and tell me your opinion.

    hid kit

    October 18, 2012 at 5:52 AM

  4. Good day! Would you mind if I share your blog with my
    twitter group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Cheers

    • Genie,

      Feel free to share my blog with your Twitter group. I enjoy hearing from readers.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      October 20, 2012 at 5:20 AM

  5. You made some really good points there. I checked on the web to find out more
    about the issue and found most people will go along with your
    views on this web site.

    nfnlp.com

    October 19, 2012 at 5:24 AM

    • Tatian,

      Thank you for the compliment. I’m just one of those writers who comes up with an idea and then puts his words on “electronic” paper.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      October 20, 2012 at 5:18 AM

  6. I’m gone to say to my little brother, that he should also visit this blog on regular basis to get updated from newest reports.

    gekko-inc.com

    October 20, 2012 at 12:32 AM

  7. Great info. Lucky me I found your blog by chance (stumbleupon).
    I’ve book marked it for later!

    Gale

    October 27, 2012 at 4:25 AM

    • Gale,

      Thank you for the visit. I hope you visit often. And thank you for the bookmark.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      November 4, 2012 at 4:20 PM

  8. I went over this internet site and I believe you have a lot of wonderful information, saved to fav (:.

    amedar consulting

    October 28, 2012 at 11:27 AM

    • Vathroder,

      Thank you for the compliment. I hope you visit often and feel free to comment on the articles and photos.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      November 14, 2012 at 12:40 AM

  9. Very shortly this web site will be famous amid all blog viewers, due to it’s good content

    dining reservation software

    November 1, 2012 at 6:11 AM

    • Thank you for the kind compliment. I do try to find interesting content based on the events going on around me.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      November 1, 2012 at 3:36 PM

  10. “Swamp Thing” October Creature Feature Viewing Sam I Am Blog is a nice article. I am about to spend more time studying this topic.

    Johnny Esmon

    November 3, 2012 at 10:02 PM


Leave a Reply

