Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

“Man In The Hood” — Cultural Differences ! Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

with 28 comments

“Man In The Hood” — Cultural Differences !

Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

MAN IN THE HOOD_PHOTO_1387

“The Man In The Hood” 

The Man In The Hood steps toward me.  I take a couple of steps backward.  My finger keeps pressing down on the camera shutter.  I hear the shutter clicking  away.  I feel the echo of my heartbeat in my ears. 

CULTURAL DIFFERENCES CLOSE UP PHOTO_1387_resized

People stand on the sidelines and watch “The Man In The Hood” walk by.  “The Reporter Within” pushes me out of the crowd and into the path of the approaching man.  I zoom in and start clicking off photos of the approaching man.  I keep stepping back to keep my distance and try to frame the shot, so that the man seems to walk at you.  I slow my back steps to try to get the image in my mind into the digital media card in my camera.  I had forgotten the focus on the zoom lens of my camera, so, when I looked through the viewfinder and his eyes suddenly looked into mine – an uneasy feeling went through my body and I got out of the way to let “The Man In The Hood” walk past me.

CULTURAL DIFFERENCES_1387_resized

In the United States, a man in a hood, is a dark symbol of evil, violence, terrorism and hatred that is associated with the Ku Klux Klan.  The KKK promotes a racist view of the world that rejects immigrants and religions that are not Protestant.  In the Republic of the Philippines, this man in the hood, was one of the actors in the Holy Week activities of the Palo Cathedral.  The irony is the man in this costume is promoting Catholicism and Christianity. The moral to the photo and the story is the powerful symbols of one nation’s culture may have a similar symbol with a completely different meaning in another nation’s culture.  Photos by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

28 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. this was a interesting website and the post was really awesome…http://www.maladiretasegmentada.com.br

    Ernesta

    August 4, 2012 at 1:19 AM

    • Ernesta,

      Thank you for the compliment. I try to find interesting, informative and entertaining articles and photos to inspire readers and web surfers.
      I really enjoy and appreciate reader feedback.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 4, 2012 at 9:50 PM

  2. i hope every newbie like this article.http://www.boliche.com.br/email.htm

    Cassandra

    August 4, 2012 at 1:51 AM

    • Cassandra,

      Thank you for the feedback. While I am a newsman at heart, I have always loved history – local, US, World, Military – all kinds of history. People forget the “Current Events” of today, quickly become history. In 20 years, the First Grade student is in college and in a class where they are researching and discussing the action that was taken or wasn’t taken in a domestic or international situation. I don’t think “History Repeats Itself.” I think “History Rewrites Itself.” Look at the Global Economy – In the US in 1929 – The Economy came apart quickly. In the US in 2007, the Global Economy problem grabbed all the international headlines for 3days “again in October”, but at the first of the month and not at the end. In 1929, the Global Economy Exploded like the A-Bomb. I still believe the “Depression” of 2007 is still happening, but it is “leaking” like Three Mile Island and Chernobyl. I think Global Economists have convinced themselves that their “press releases and fairy tales” are accurate, but, I don’t believe the overall global economic system is healing.

      At the end o World War I, in Germany, the currency was worthless because it took so much just to buy groceries. The irony is that it seems World War II actually did a lot to create new jobs, get people working and money moving.

      From 2007 to 2012, there have been “economic initiatives” in various countries and various companies, but, there has not been a “Significant Global Event” to get the world’s currency flowing again. Hopefully, world leaders really are working the economic issues, but, based on global history that usually isn’t how economic issues are handled.

      There have always been inflation, recession and — Depression economic cycles in world history, But, whether you are talking “The Irish Potato Famine” or “The Black Death” it always seems to take “a world- shaking event” to get “Global Markets” back on track.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 4, 2012 at 10:13 PM

  3. Thanks for discussing your ideas. I’d also like to express that video games have been at any time evolving. Better technology and revolutions have helped create reasonable and active games. These entertainment video games were not really sensible when the concept was first of all being tried. Just like other areas of electronics, video games way too have had to evolve by many decades. This itself is testimony towards fast continuing development of video games.

    wyroby betonowe

    August 4, 2012 at 12:19 PM

    • Purinton,

      Thanks for the compliment on the article.

      “Fast continuing development of video games ?” In 2012, it does seem like new video games arrived each day. But, to truly appreciate the slow evolution of video games you have to look at where they were back in 1982 when they were on cassette tape and played in cassette video recorders and on those big. black square floppy disk about five inches squared. The floppy could only contain a few bytes of data. One of the big games of the day was “Asteroids,” you had these little skull shaped spaceships that moved around the screen and you tried to “blast them.” The graphics was crude, but you could spend hours playing the game. The story games were really crude. You had small drawn graphics and story text in a font that looked like it had been written by first graders. Early on you had to use the keyboard to move up, down, right or left because once the “mouse” was invented it took some time to get it into the overall system so all the different computers could use them. Amigas were great game computers and Tandy Radio Shack computers seemed to add equipment quickly to their inventory to keep people interested in their systems. The first big “Windows Game” I remember is “DOOM.” In the early 1990s, everyone was playing “DOOM” and another game called, “Wolfenstein.” They were your basic “shoot-em up” games. The graphics had really came along way. Art in computer games in the 80s were rough sketches of cave paintings, heiroglyphics and stick figures, while art in computer games by the 1990s had a realistic almost Michelangelo look. The art might of been 2D, but the artists took their time to color and add detail to characters and background and they had found a way to encode the data into the bits. The 3D and Computer Generated Image artists of 2012 owe a debt of gratitude to those early game developers who did the “Peeks, Pokes, and Sprites. Watch some early 80s movies and you will be amazed at how crude “video Game” graphics are. “The Last Starfighter” is a great family 80s movie that uses “video games” to tell the story. Like the original, “War Games” movie – you might find it “unbelievable” to realize how far computers and video games have come – kind of like going from barbarians to the space program in about 20 years. Now, if only global businesses would start scheduling tour destinations for the Moon and Mars ?

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 4, 2012 at 9:46 PM

  4. I just want to say I am very new to blogs and definitely loved your website. Most likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You actually have tremendous articles. Cheers for revealing your website page.

    Twana Bernstrom

    August 6, 2012 at 4:24 AM

    • Twana,

      Thank you for taking the time to comment. I do my best to find interesting articles and photos.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 6, 2012 at 10:39 PM

  5. wow, what an excellent presentation! going to follow your site now. thanks so much. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

    lista de email

    August 9, 2012 at 1:08 AM

    • Lista,

      Thank you for the compliment. And, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 9, 2012 at 4:47 PM

  6. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four e-mails with exactly the same comment. Is there any way you can remove individuals from that service? A lot of thanks!

    massage tables

    August 10, 2012 at 5:10 PM

    • Raab,

      I do not know how Word Press sets up their feed system. Usually those their is a link that will allow you to “unsubscribe” from a feed.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 20, 2012 at 10:18 PM

  7. Right after examine a number of with the weblog posts in your website now, and I actually like your method of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark web site checklist and can be checking once more soon. Pls try my site as nicely and let me know what you feel.

    Visit This Link

    August 10, 2012 at 9:39 PM

    • CDrsanjay,

      Thank you for the compliment. My method of blogging is basically, I sit down and write about events that effect me.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 20, 2012 at 10:08 PM

  8. Having been simply seeking at beneficial weblog articles with regard towards the project research when My partner and i happened to stumble on yours. Thanks for this practical information!

    massage table

    August 11, 2012 at 8:56 AM

    • Doi,

      I appreciate knowing that one of my articles was of value to your research project.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 20, 2012 at 10:33 PM

  9. Exceptional weblog here! right after reading, i decide to buy a sleeping bag ASAP

    massage table

    August 11, 2012 at 11:45 AM

    • “Thank you . . . I think.” I hope you meant that the articles and photos were so interesting that you had to get a sleeping bag to curl up with your laptop to keep looking and reading. :}

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 24, 2012 at 1:11 AM

  10. This internet website is my breathing in, extremely great pattern and perfect content .

  11. Re: Whomever made the remark that this was an excellent site truly needs to get their head looked at.

    • EngBuckmaster.

      Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. The nice thing about “Freedom of Choice” is that you don’t have to like my “site.” I’m not “selling” anything. I write and I photograph. I post my articles and I post my photos. The material I post affects my life. Obviously, your experiences in Life are totally different than mine.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 30, 2012 at 10:03 AM

  12. rather useful stuff, all in all I picture this is worthy of a bookmark, cheers

    Mirabella Nelthrope

    August 31, 2012 at 11:21 AM

    • Mirabelia Neithrope,

      Thank you for the compliment. I try to provide readers with interesting photos and stories.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      September 4, 2012 at 4:58 PM

  13. excellent post. many thanks for sharing this resource. thanks so much for everything you’ve put into it this blog has me coming back time and time again. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

    lista de emails

    August 31, 2012 at 9:07 PM

    • Clezero,

      Thank you. I try to finder story ideas and photo ideas that will have readers and cyber surfers “tuning in” often to my blog like in the days of the old Batman TV show: “Next week, Same Bat Station, Same Bat Time.”

      Sam

      samwarren55

      September 4, 2012 at 5:35 PM

  14. What’s up, this weekend is fastidious designed for me, for the reason that this point in time i am reading this wonderful informative article here at my residence.

    low cost business

    April 8, 2013 at 5:36 PM

  15. I am in fact delighted to read this website posts which contains
    plenty of valuable information, thanks for providing these kinds of statistics.


Leave a Reply

