Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

Photography Patrol – “Pigeon Patrol — Nikon D 100 Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

with 20 comments

PIGEON PATROL_NIKON D 100 Photo 0031_by Samuel E Warren Jr_resized

“Pigeon Patrol”

Nephew Glen Roa, tossed out the bird seed, this morning. Suddenly, the sky above One Warren Way is alive with the flutter of pigeon wings. The nephews “pet” pigeons precision decent to their in-the-field mess hall and gather for breakfast chow, while ignoring the “Foreign Object Debris” of the piece of a brown plastic sack in the left corner of the photo.

It is reported that the last official “military carrier pigeon” died at the end of World War II. Thus, these pet pigeons have come to expect the “welfare” contributions of the boys each morning before school.

I grew up on a hog farm in Missouri and pets were dogs,puppies,cats, kittens,runt pigs, and the occasional baby calf on a bottle. Cardinals and blue jays flew overhead, but, they waited until people were a safe distance away before doing “touch and go” landings in the yard for feed seed.

In the US Air Force, man’s metal birds and nature’s birds had problems sharing the sky overhead. Each year, birds jeopardized “man and machine” through “bird strikes”, when either a bird or a flock of birds would get sucked into a large aircraft engine damaging the rotor blades and threatening the overall safety of the flight.

There were also “bird strike” incidents were a bird would slam through the canopy of a fighter aircraft, smashing the canopy, injuring and sometimes killing the fighter pilot. Thus, global air force bases and large international civilian airports always used a variety of ways to try and “scare” birds away from the active runways and maintain a safe “No Fly Zone” for nature’s birds. Therefore, when it comes to pigeons, I leave the morning and afternoon pigeon patrol sortie schedules to the boys and their pet pigeons. Nikon D 100 Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i’m very glad i found your site. http://www.divulgaemail.com

    Daniele

    August 4, 2012 at 10:52 AM

  2. I just want to mention I’m new to weblog and definitely liked this website. Likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You surely come with great stories. Regards for sharing your web site.

    Cornelia Shike

    August 6, 2012 at 10:02 AM

    • Cornelia,

      Thank you for your compliment. I basically look at Life around me to find my story ideas. The same is true with photos because I look at something and then lean back and look at it again. Believe it or not, if you look at a comic book, the angle of the characters in the various panels can suggest “photographic” ways to shoot a photo. Good luck on your blogging.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 6, 2012 at 10:48 PM

  3. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get several e-mails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that service? Appreciate it!

    beton

    August 9, 2012 at 3:24 AM

    • Beton,

      Usually at the bottom of an email, there should be a link that allows you to opt out of a service. Also depending on the browser, you are using there should be a way to screen out emails and pop ups. Firefox has numerous plugins to handle emails. I have found different plugins on Google for Chrome. I have never really worked with Internet Explorer, so I don’t really know what kind of add-ons that they have to handle email. Check the bottom of one of the emails and there should be a link that will let you opt out of the service.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 9, 2012 at 4:46 PM

  4. source for this article

    Jeanne Madill

    August 10, 2012 at 9:48 AM

    • Jeanne,

      The source for this article is based on my personal experiences in the Air Force.

      While I was stationed at Barksdale, there was always the concern of birds flying over the base and nesting on buildings. When aircraft are landing and taking off, birds not only risk their own lives, but jeopardize the lives of people on the aircraft.

      If you check with people who work for the airlines, I think you will be surprised at how often birds are a concern for airports — civilian and military.

      Aircraft, of course, always file flight plans, unfortunately, there is never anyway to know at what altitude and approach a bird is using in flying from one point to the next. Thus, birds are often times accidentally drawn into aircraft engines in flight and sometimes slammed against the canopies. Search the web an you should find reports of “bird strikes” involving aircraft.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 20, 2012 at 9:58 PM

  5. Thank you for an additional excellent post. Exactly exactly where else could anybody get that kind of facts in this kind of a ideal way of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m around the appear for this kind of data.

    massage tables

    August 10, 2012 at 5:20 PM

  6. Hi! Excellent post! Please do tell us when I will see a follow up!

    massage table

    August 11, 2012 at 9:31 AM

    • Thank you for the comment. There probably will not be a follow up for this photo because I just published it as a stand alone photo.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 20, 2012 at 10:02 PM

  7. Hey there. I noticed your website title, “Photography Patrol – “Pigeon Patrol — Nikon D 100 Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr. Sam I Am Blog” does not really reflect the content of your internet site. When writing your website title, do you think it’s most beneficial to write it for Web optimization or for your visitors? This is one thing I’ve been struggling with simply because I want great rankings but at the same time I want the best quality for my site visitors.

    massage tables for sale

    August 11, 2012 at 3:33 PM

    • Vaneekelen,

      The Pigeon Patrol photo does reflect “my content” of my blog because. My blog is my journey through Life. If, for instance, I was writing for a dedicated topic like to sell computers, then, of course, the photo would not reflect the overall content. Actually, if I had a dedicated website to sell computers, then, I would not have published the pigeon photo.

      I write for readers.

      Web Optimization seems to be a fancy way of saying, “Number Crunchers.” The Vietnam War is a classic example of “Number Crunchers Gone Wild.” Manpower and budget funding by the US Government was related to the “numbers” coming from the field. There were accusations that some of the “body count numbers” were out and out lies to keep Congress sending troops, supplies and money to fight in essentially, a Vietnamese Civil War.

      Missourian Mark Twain made the comment about “Figures always lie and liars always figure,” which suggest that while numerical data can help give you an idea of an overall picture — you probably should take other factors into consideration if you are going for a blog to support a business interest.

      If your blog is a lifestyle blog, kind of like mine, then, just relax and try to give your readers something interesting to look at, read and think about. Good Luck on your blog.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 24, 2012 at 1:25 AM

  8. Hello! I’ve been following your weblog for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Houston Tx! Just wanted to mention keep up the good work!

    infrared heaters

    August 22, 2012 at 7:28 PM

    • Mackler,

      “Good Morning, Houston, Texas !” As a kid, my folks lived at 313 East 26th Street in the Heights subdivision area of Houston. I hope everything is great in “The Lone Star State.” I appreicate you taking the time to give me a “shout out” I love to hear from readers.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 24, 2012 at 1:50 AM

  9. How did you make this blog site look this cool!? Email me if you can and share your wisdom. Id be thankful!

    http://www.wepapers.com/

    August 27, 2012 at 8:20 AM

    • Grosvenor,

      I just chose a template that offers a clean look for the eye. I use big photos usually to appeal to the eye. If I’m publishing a long article then I use plenty of line art, clip art, magazine initial letters, insert sandwiches, smart quotes and other techniques to serve as a “Rest Stop” for the eye on the journey through a long article.

      Have fun in writing, layout and photography and you should look forward to doing your blog.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 27, 2012 at 5:49 PM

  10. Hi there to all, because I am truly eager of reading this weblog’s post to be updated on a regular basis. It carries pleasant data.

    Sadie

    July 23, 2013 at 12:27 AM

  11. Web Optimization seems to be a fancy way of saying, “Number Crunchers.” The Vietnam War is a classic example of “Number Crunchers Gone Wild.” Manpower and budget funding by the US Government was related to the “numbers” coming from the field.


Leave a Reply

