Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

Internet Doomsday – July 9 2012 ?

with 9 comments

Internet Doomsday

July 9, 2012 ?

“Any Last Words” — Computers have always been electronic boxes that can get on your last nerve. Still, I believe, the idea of an “Internet Doomsday” will always be more “fairy tale” than “fact..” Incidentally, Gun Control Advocates – relax – the pistol in the photo is a BB Gun. Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

July 8, 2012 – I am using the Dell laptop to surf the Internet for information on web browsers.  As I click through the search engine links a headline about “Internet Doomsday” leaps at me from the Salon website.

I love “Doomsday, Armageddon and Apocalypse” stories.  If I had a penny for every time in my life someone has shouted “Doomsday,” I would rank right up there next to Bill Gates on “Forbes” richest persons’ list.

I went to grade school, during the Cold War years of the 1960s, and the “A Bomb Scare” was a constant threat.

The persistent fear was someone either in the United States Government or the Government of the Soviet Union would give the order and suddenly the sky would fill with Intercontinental Ballistic Missiles with their MIRV – Multiple Independently targeted Reentry Vehicle warheads and several decades later when the Nuclear Winter clouds had finally cleared – the only life left would be “cockroaches and houseflies.”

The Cold War’s Nuclear Annihilation Fear was a real fear; not just “paranoia.”

Novelist George Orwell’s book, “1984,” brought all the alarmists out of the closet by January 1, 1980.  Many people expressed concern about the approach of 1984.  People were even predicting World War III by no later than 1985.

No doubt many people remember the Millennium scare that started around 1998, when 1999 was suppose to be the end of one Millennium and the start of another.  Then, people decided the date should be 2000.

And, of course, the digit date glitch of early computers were suppose to lead to Global Computer Suicide at the beginning of 2000 as the Y2K Crisis.  It didn’t happen.

History is full of “Doomsday Prophets.”

Global Loss Of The Internet is not “Nuclear War.”

The Global Geeks would find a way to “boot up” their hard drives, write code and get the system back online.

Skeptic, cynic, older American that I am: it is not feasible that one man, one woman, or one group can take down the Internet because there are too many different types of code, servers and systems plugged into the overall global entity.

Thus, I read the Salon story and made a mental note to check my malware and anti-virus program.

When it comes to “Doomsday, Armageddon, or Apocalypse” – FEARS – I always remember the quote from President Franklin Roosevelt “All We Have To Fear – Is Fear Itself.”

Naturally, I could be wrong about the “Internet Doomsday.”  I might fire up my laptop, July 10, 2012 and find there are No Servers up and running anywhere in the world.  But, I doubt it.  In the worst case scenario, I still have a portable typewriter with a new ribbon in my boxes of stuff.

Before the Internet, people used typewriters, bond paper, carbon paper and white out to do the business of the world.  I doubt anyone wants to go “back,” but, it never hurts to have a “Plan B” ready, just in case.

The true seriousness of the Internet Doomsday is a real glitch would make the bad global economy worse; if that is possible.

The link at the end will provide information about how the American FBI got involved in the whole scenario of runaway rumors of the  “Internet Doomsday Hysteria.”

You might want to check your computer’s malware and anti-virus programs before you go to bed.  On the bright side – July 10 in the Philippines, July 9 in the United States is a new day – The sun will rise.

If the Internet is down – No Biggie Dah – the Global Geeks of the World will have the system back “Online” in no time.

http://www.technolog.msnbc.msn.com/technology/technolog/what-know-july-9-internet-doomsday-arrives-869336

Sam

Written by samwarren55

July 10, 2012 at 12:22 AM

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Albensia,

    Thank you for your compliment.

    Sam

    samwarren55

    July 24, 2012 at 11:59 PM

  2. I simply want to mention I’m new to blogs and really liked your blog site. Very likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You absolutely have incredible stories. Thanks a lot for sharing your web page.

    Virgie Yoss

    August 6, 2012 at 9:41 AM

    • Virgie,

      Thank you for the comment. I have a “Child-like” curiosity of Life that I use to find my story ideas and photo ideas for my blogs. Good Luck on your blogging.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 6, 2012 at 10:44 PM

  3. Hey There. I found your weblog the use of msn. That is an extremely smartly written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn more of your helpful information. Thanks for the post. I will definitely comeback.

    beton

    August 8, 2012 at 7:47 AM

    • Beton,

      Thank you for the compliment on the article. I hope you will visit my blog often.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 8, 2012 at 9:39 AM

  4. Hello there, I discovered your blog via Google whilst searching for a related matter, your web site got here up, it seems great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    • Thank you for the compliment. I try to have a variety of stories and photos to interest, inform and entertain readers. Please visit often.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      October 11, 2012 at 7:20 AM

  5. On the side of a pair of swim trunks is a velcro pocket. Board shorts are known for their loose and lengthy style. Surfers cover surfboards with a layer of sticky wax, this wax allows a surfer to comfortably stand on a surfboard without the fear of losing grip. Though surf wax helps a surfer when standing on the board, it can accidentally harm them when kneeling on the board. Much of the decision of how long board shorts should be is determined by current fashion trends. Many guys prefer wearing their beach shorts low enough that their butt shows. board-shorts.weebly.com/ To assure that the shorts stay on, there is both a velcro fly and a lace tie that circles the waist. On the side of a pair of swim trunks is a velcro pocket. Having a pocket on a pair of trunks is very effective for holding a car key when surfing. Unlike speedos or shorts for land, shorts are long and baggy. For safety, surf shorts are long. Though made for functionality, the design of beach shorts is known to change more often based on the latest trends in popular clothing style. Board short lengths range from mid thigh to below the knee. Many guys prefer wearing their beach shorts low enough that their butt shows. Board shorts come in all different patterns including hawaiian floral, stripes, solid colors and more.

    Natalie Lapre

    July 9, 2013 at 1:58 PM

  6. SEO Services Orange County Great – I should certainly pronounce, impressed with your web site. I had no trouble navigating through all tabs as well as related information ended up being truly easy to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it in the least. Quite unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for those who add forums or something, website theme . a tones way for your client to communicate. Excellent task.

    Anderson Arenivar

    July 11, 2013 at 6:25 PM


Leave a Reply

