Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

Desktop Publishing Glitch Stops Publication !

with 2 comments

Desktop Publishing Glitch

Stops Publication !

“Truth, Justice, Newspaper Headlines, and Blog Deadline – “Great Caesar’s Ghost !” computers, Internet , electronic layouts, desktop publishing — it was all supposed to make putting out a newspaper easy. Now, there is a glitch in the system and the presses don’t roll. Kent ! Find my Underwood, some bond paper, a pica pole and a whiz wheel, we have a newspaper to get out !” Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

Watch any movie about newspapers and some white-haired, cigar chomping editor that looks like “Superman’s” legendary Editor-In-Chief Perry White is grumbling and barking orders.

While it seems that the Internet, computers, software, and the intricate nature of servers and cyberspace is about to put newspapers into the Smithsonian Institution somewhere between the dinosaurs and the original USS Enterprise starship model.

But, before that last press operator, turns off the light and walks out of the building – let us take note that the legions of aspiring bloggers have days when they have the grey hair, ulcers and swear words of the legendary stereotypical American editors-in-chief.

Some of the back issues of my U S Air Force newspapers — The first USAF paper that I was assigned to was the Barksdale Air Force Base “Observer.” I had been a volunteer “stringer”, essentially Jimmy Olsen in a blue suit, for the “Blythe Spirit” at Blytheville AFB, Arkansas,, but I didn’t get a paycheck for those articles – I did get a byline. In the Pacific, I beat feet on the street for the “Kadena Shogun” in Okinawa. But, the “Philippine Flyer” at Clark Air Base was the most action-packed, crucial, critical, “never a dull moment” newspaper or military assignment of my career. “Ah, The Glory Days Of Wings And Rapid Response.” Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

For three weeks, I have tried diligently to “go to press” with my Memorial Day article. My “Sam I Am Blog” is my main blog publication. I am a one man electronic newpaper. Thus, when the Word Press system refused the article and photos, I had no copy boy to swear at.

I checked my Firefox browser for my Windows 7 software and the Mozilla feedback stated I had the version 12, which is the latest for my machine. I suspected my Java, I went to the website and updated my Java.

Regardless what I did, the Word Press system would not accept the article and photos. I know Word Press.com runs the blog platform for bloggers. I know Word Press. Org has the plugins that you can use to update your system.

I originally set up my system in the United States before moving to the Philippines.

I suspected the connection speed might be the problem. In the1990s, I was not extremely fond of my modem and phone line connection to America On Line, yet, it was faster than back in the late 1980s, when I was stationed at Kadena Air Base Okinawa and the modem connection began at 300 baud and finally increased to 1200 baud.

The early days of computers and the Internet, really made you wonder if it wouldn’t be wiser to invest in legions of trained carrier pigeons.

Living in a rural area of the Philippines is a lot like living in rural southwest Missouri when it comes to Internet connection speeds and overall system stability. No matter what I tried the Word Press system did not allow me to publish my Memorial Day article.

Like any good publisher or editor, I went to Plan B. Of course, real publishers and newspaper editors would probably have only delayed “rolling the presses” by a few hours. However, a one man newspaper has to sleep sometime.

My Plan B meant I take the copy and photos and publish them in the sister publication, my “Samuel Warren The Writer” blog. I did the copy and photo layout and pressed the “publish” button. The magickal electronic “presses rolled.”

I still have no idea what the glitch is on Word Press. I even tried to post the photos and copy by setting up a new page, but the system “locked up” on me each time.

I hope I can publish this article on Word Press to let my regular “Sam I Am Blog” readers know that my two Memorial Day articles are on my “Samuel Warren The Writer” blog.

The first article discusses family Memorial Day traditions in the United States,

The second article outlines the Death Anniversary celebration in the Philippines.

While it is time for this grumpy blog editor to get some shut eye, I leave my readers with the links to the articles on the “Samuel Warren The Writer” blog.

Barangay Baras Sign in Leyte, Republic of the Philippines — Baras, a rest stop along the Internet’s Information Super Highway and the World Headquarters of the “Sam I Am Blog” and “The Samuel Warren The Writer” blog, where the presses roll at One Warren Way. Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

Article 1

M-Day !

American Family Tradition Stands The Test Of Time Across The Pacific Ocean

http://samuelwarrenthewriter.blogspot.com/2012/06/m-day-american-family-tradition-stands.html

Article 2

The merger of a Filipino family tradition and an American family tradition achieves immortality for the Saldana, DeLong and Warren ancestors

Death Anniversary Day

Saldana Family Death Anniversary Ritual June 4, 2012

http://samuelwarrenthewriter.blogspot.com/2012/06/death-anniversary-day.html

Roll the presses !”

Sam

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Samuel E. Warren Jr. Quote

Heaven

“When I die, I don’t need to go to Heaven.  I live on the

island of Leyte, in the Republic of the Philippines. 

What could Heaven possibly offer me

that I don’t already have  ? 

Just let me open up my eyes back in the P.I.”

—- Samuel E. Warren Jr.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________


2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You will have to consider aspect inside an important challenge for one from all of the most beneficial blog sites for all of the net. I actually can suggest samwarren55.wordpress.com !

    • Wicked,

      Thank You. The Word Press and Internet glitches have made the blog a real challenge at times. When I can’t get into the system I go to my “Samuel Warren The Writer” blog on Blogger and post the article and photos to that blog.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      June 22, 2012 at 7:42 AM


Leave a Reply

