Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

Photography Patrol — East Texas or Eastern Visayas ? — Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr,

with 10 comments

East Texas Or Eastern Visayas ? Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.  The correct answer is Eastern Visayas.  Analyn Natividad holds Sarge’s leash.  Christy Warren holds Smiley’s leash.  Mac Mac Roa looks into the Nipa Hut, while his mother, Marife, slices up a coconut.  This scene of domestic tranquility happened in a Leyte jungle in the Republic of the Philippines.  I raised my Nikon D 40 and took the photograph.  In my childhood, I visited Papa and Mama Warren in Simpsonville, in east Texas, and the nipa hut reminded me of the large wooden clapboard house that they lived in.  The slicing of the coconuts reminded me of the summer, my east Texas’ cousins, and I got to eat fresh cut stalks of sugar cane in the sugar cane fields of east Texas.  Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

Written by samwarren55

April 24, 2012 at 5:52 PM

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. what a cozy pic! 🙂

    vnettum

    April 24, 2012 at 6:26 PM

  2. My brother recommended I may like this web site. He was once totally right. This post actually made my day. You can not believe simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

    discount shopping online

    April 28, 2012 at 2:12 PM

    • Discount Shopping Online,

      I’m happy you and your brother enjoyed my blog. I try to keep my eyes open for interesting shots. Best wishes for your chocolate trading company in the United Kingdom.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      April 30, 2012 at 1:09 PM

  3. Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole my iPad and tested to see if it can survive a thirty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now broken and she has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with someone! 32607

    Homepage

    May 4, 2012 at 2:08 AM

    • Homepage,

      I’m sorry to hear about your iPad. I’m an only child, so I find the concept of “sister” outside of my understanding. If it were in my realm of understanding, I think I would put her up for “adoption.” Just kidding.

      If she was going for You Tube fame, I think, she missed the mark. With only 83 views, it hardly seemed worth the effort. Did she really think a compact package of electronics could survive a 30-foot drop ?

      Again, sorry to hear about your iPad. Hang in there.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      May 18, 2012 at 6:02 AM

      • Very interesting Photo Jr. good to see this

        Dwayne in Missouri i.e. Snow Ball

        dwaynelon@aol.com

        June 7, 2012 at 1:11 AM

      • Dwayne,

        Thank you for the compliment about the photo. The scene reminded me of Grandma and Uncle Richard’s house, near Abesville, sort of the Tropical version.

        I hope your family is okay. I didn’t get to talk to your mom< Shirley, before w left the States. I hope Shirley is okay.

        We live in the country here just like in Missouri. In Missouri, we had the hills and the woods. In the Philippines, we have flat land, but the dense jungle vegetation really turns the jungle landscape into the woods in a few steps in any direction. The sunshine,i.e., heat and the rain do an excellent job for plant growth.

        I know you like to "Deer Hunt." I haven't seen wildlife here. There are big crocodiles and big snakes, but as far as I know those creatures are on other islands. The Philippines is always "A Diving Destination."

        I hope things are good in Missouri. I always admired Governor Jay Nixon, even back when h was the Missouri Attorney General. I figure if anyone can improve and make the economy in Missouri better it will b Governor Nixon.

        The Philippines in many ways is like living in the United States. A democracy and many institutions just like in the States. Imagine living in the United States and moving to a large city, where your community only speaks Spanish. That is basically my situation. Tagalog is a language that evolved from Spanish. On the plus side, when the nieces and nephews have English homework, I get to answer the questions.

        Stay in touch, Dwayne. Check the blog often, I like to use the camera to show how life in the P.I. is similar and different than life in the USA. Take care. Give your mom my regards.

        Jr.

        samwarren55

        June 7, 2012 at 5:02 PM

  4. This is a typical rural setting-tranquil,free of worries.

    myverbaldiarhhea

    July 15, 2012 at 1:55 AM

    • “Rural setting -tranquil, free or worries” — I take it you have never lived in the country on a farm.:)

      Sam

      samwarren55

      August 3, 2012 at 7:39 PM


Leave a Reply

