Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

Photography Patrol – Pastrana Sari–Sari Store–Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

with 5 comments

Pastrana Sari-Sari Store

PASTRANA SARI SARI STORE_0744_resized

Pastrana Sari-Sari Store – Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.  Pastrana is pronounced “Pah-strah – nah.”  And the words, sari-sari, are pronounced, “Sorry – E, Sorry – E.”  A sari-sari store in the Philippines is like a General Store in rural America or a small convenience store in an American city.  This little store a customer can actually walk into and shop.  Some sari-sari stores are more like a bank teller’s window at the drive thru lane of a bank.  You tell the store operator what you want and they either give it to you for a certain amount of pesos or they tell you they don’t have the item.

A sari-sari store’s merchandise varies from store to store, but, they can have everything from double A batteries to detergent to candy to rice to Coca Cola, Pepsi, Merinda or Royal orange soda to San Miguel beer.  Americans love the term “small business.” but to truly appreciate how small a business can be and still make a living for a family, you have to shop at a Philippines’ Sari-Sari Store.  Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Read more from the original source: Photography Patrol – Pastrana Sari–Sari Store–Photo by Samuel E … […]

  2. Good morning. I’ve finally decided to register after being a long time lurker. Looking forward to some good chats!

    How to smoke a cigar

    April 13, 2012 at 1:33 AM

    • How To Smoke A Cigar,

      Thank you for browsing my blog. I haven’t found a whole lot of cigars in the Philippines. However, here is some “Tobacco Trivia” for you compliments of something I read recently, “Tobacco is the one cash crop in the Republic of the Philippines that was actually imported to be grown in the country.”

      I usually smoke cigarettes, but, when I could find a good cigar in the USA, I would smoke it.

      I had my working General MacArthur corn cob pipe that I bought in a Missouri tobacco shop in Nixa. I like the sweet scented pipe tobaccos like Cherry or Whiskey.

      I realize the overall global conservative culture believes that “smoking” is bad, but, so is gas guzzling automobiles and no one is moving to outlaw cars or oil – Smile.

      Sometimes people forget history – George Washington – The Father of America – was a tobacco farmer. Thomas Jefferson – the 3rd president of the United States was a tobacco farmer. During World War !!, C-Rations for American soldier always included a pack of cigarettes from Chesterfield to Lucky Strike. And, of course, some Native American tribes used tobacco in their religious ceremonies.

      I’m still on the lookout for a good cigar in the Philippines.

      I hope you visit my blog often, I try to have interesting articles and photos.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      April 15, 2012 at 3:44 PM

  3. Someone essentially help to make severely articles I might state. That is the first time I frequented your web page and so far? I amazed with the analysis you made to create this actual publish amazing. Magnificent process!

    Lenita Randahl

    April 26, 2012 at 11:00 AM

    • Lenita Randahl,

      Thank you for the compliment. I hope you visit my blog often.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      April 30, 2012 at 1:17 PM


Leave a Reply

