Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

Rafael’s Caribou

with 3 comments

Rafael’s Caribou

RAFAEL SALDANA CLOSEUP PHOTO 001

Rafael Saldana

by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

My brother-in-law, Rafael Saldana, is a rice farmer in Barangay Baras, Tanauan, Leyte, Philippines.

In rural Leyte, the beast of burden is the caribou. A caribou is an bovine animal in Asia that combines the best features of farm pickups and tractors.

While farmers in the United States may own a Case, New Holland, Ford, White, Allis Chambers, Kubota or John Deere tractor, rural Filipino farmers can rely on the plentiful and much less expensive caribou to get the job done.

The land in front of the house is covered with the traditional thick tropical vegetation. Unfortunately, during the monsoon season, it becomes obvious that the soil under the plants is . . .mud. And, that mud is effective in pulling the rubber boots and shoes right off your feet and leaving you standing almost knee deep in mud.

RFAELS CARIBOU STANDS READY TO MOVE  SCRAP COCONUT LUMBER_7269

The caribou stands ready to move more scrap coconut tree lumber into place.

Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

The quick fix landscape solution became some way to cover over the mud. Commercial landscapers in the United States would have a variety of heavy duty power equipment like the Bobcat and Ditch Witch bulldozers ready to tackle the problem. In rural Leyte, my wife, Christy and I have. . . Rafael’s Caribou.

NEPTALI ABANO UNLOADS THE COCONUT SCRAP LUMBER IN THE FRONT YARD_7272

Neptali “Endoy” Abano  readies the caribou to get another load of coconut tree scrap lumber.  Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

Thus, Neptali “Endoy” Abano hooked up Rafael’s Caribou to the yoke and the bamboo drag to bring more scrap coconut lumber into the yard to place over the growing mud swamp. While the trail could probably stand a few more pieces of scrap lumber, for now, you can walk into the yard, rather, than wade into the yard – Thanks to Rafael’s Caribou.

RAFAEL'S CARIBOU up close_7279

Rafael’s Caribou Up Close

Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons license.
Written by samwarren55

February 22, 2012 at 6:06 PM

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. flippa tips This is great content I found your site by visiting flippa tips keep up the good work!

    flippa cheat

    February 23, 2012 at 6:23 AM

    • Flippa Cheat,

      I appreciate your remark about my content. I also appreciate you came to this site by way of flippa tips. I like to write and shoot photos and I enjoy sharing them with my readers. My hope is that when someone sits down for a cup of coffee or decides to curl up in front of the fire with a good iBook, they think to surf my site and see “What is Sam writing about today?” And I hope that I can at least present a smile that will bring a smile to the reader’s lips or an idea to their mind.

      Thank you for your compliment and I hope you will continue to ride the electronic waves to my virtual nipa hut library. :}

      Sam

      samwarren55

      March 2, 2012 at 1:04 PM

  2. … [Trackback]

    […] Informations on that Topic: samwarren55.wordpress.com/2012/02/22/rafaels-caribou/ […]

    My Homepage

    July 29, 2014 at 10:33 AM


Leave a Reply

