Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

The Quilts of Stone County

with 3 comments

Stone County Missouri’s 160th Anniversary Celebration – Quilts

The Quilts

of Stone County

by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

When you live in the Ozarks, you know, come winter – it’s time to throw a big, thick quilt on the bed because winter evenings in southwest Missouri can get bone-chilling cold. My mother always had a stack of quilts ready to unpack for cold winter evenings.

Top Of The Stairs – Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr This was the view standing at the top of the staris, on the third floor of the Stone County Courthouse, in front of the Commissioners’ Office, and looking down the banister at the Quilts of Stone County on display, Saturday, September 24, 2011.
Top Of The Stairs_ Quilts_2798_resized

Momma Warren, my grandmother in Upshur County, in east Texas, hand- stitched her quilts. She made my father one before he got married and put his name and birthday on the quilt. As a kid, I always remembered the quilt and snuggled under it on winter evenings in Missouri.

When I learned that Stone County, Missouri’s 160th Anniversary Celebration would have quilts on display in the courthouse, I knew from the colors and designs of quilts that there would be some interesting photos. So, I put my trusty camera in the bag and made a note to myself to shoot the quilts.

What is impressive about quilts as functional art is the amount of time and talent that goes into creating a simple bed covering. The Quilters of Stone County put their work on display at the courthouse and the work looked outstanding. Look at some of the photos, I shot of the quilts and see what you think.

Quilts, Quilts, And More Quilts – Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr. Local quilters display their creative quilts along the stairways of the Stone County Courthouse to observe Stone County, Missouri’s 160 Anniversary, Saturday, September 24, 2011.
SC160_The Quilts of Stone County_0112_Photo by  Samuel E Warren Jr_resized

United States Quilt – Photo by Samuel E Warren Jr. This United States Quilt with a block for all 50 states was on display on the first floor of the courthouse.
United States Quilt_2795_resized
Written by samwarren55

October 6, 2011 at 11:29 AM

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I especially like your last paragraph – and I did start a blog – two in fact – just a few months ago! I always write letters to my children at Christmas – sometimes more often, but at least once a year. They know their letters will be in their stockings! Probably wouldn’t do anything you said not to – just a little bit inhibited! But that’s just me. Congratulations on being freshly pressed!

    Pellucid

    October 19, 2011 at 11:08 PM

    • Pellucid,

      Thank you for the compliment.

      Letter writing is a lost art in America. I always wrote letters to my grandmothers, my aunt in Texas, and my mom when I was in college or overseas. Text messaging “ain’t” the same. When people write letters they sit down, collect their thoughts, write from the heart to convey their thoughts feelings and emotions. Letters can even become historical documents that describe a time and place like the Letters From The Civil War or the V-Mail Letters of World War II. Letters were Love written for prosperity.

      Text messaging could be done by excited chimpanzees because people abbreviate, cute-sify their spelling and punch at keys – in essence – text messaging is electronic cave drawings in cyberspace. I think future historians and archaeologists will be puzzled by : LOL,IMHO,Whazz up, and the other cryptic phrases of text messaging. ( Perhaps, they will believe society developed a race of primitive romantic computers that tried to date one another.)

      I hope your blog is going well. It is a wonderful idea that you send letters to your children at Christmas. Putting the letters in their stockings sounds like a Great Family Tradition.

      Do not be inhibited – Life is TOO Short.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      October 20, 2011 at 10:58 AM

  2. I love the website of your topic. Obviously you have a very valid point, however I can’t get over how great the site design is.

    Diet To Go Coupon

    November 2, 2011 at 6:59 PM


Leave a Reply

