Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

Sam I Am Blog To Change

with 2 comments

by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

I began this blog because I love to write and shoot photos.

Overtime it has seemed that the WordPress interface has changed.  Or, perhaps, I have.

At first, it seemed easy to post to WordPress.  I usually write my stories in Office first and then post to WordPress.

In the last few months, it seems more frustrating trying to post even a short story to WordPress.  I no longer seem to get the What You See Is What You Get Function.  I try to post copy and the result seems to be throwing a dart into the dark of night – Whatever I Get I Get.

One of the chief frustrations is how hard it is to make corrections anymore.  I got a messed up cutline in a story.  I have tried several times to fix the Possum Holler Fiddler’s cutline and the blog editor always gives me everything, but what I want.

I added Zemanta.  Then, my WordPress blog editor moved the publish button off my screen – so I never get to push it anymore – I just have to guess.

I’ve decided to check out other blog services to see if they are more user friendly and easier to post to.  Quite simply, when the time comes to fly, you want to buy a ticket and go to the airport.  I’m tired of doing research and development to try and build an airplane each and every time that I want to set out on an electronic flight into publishing.  Time to find a more responsive system.

Sam

Written by samwarren55

September 27, 2011 at 6:05 AM

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What did you use to design your blog? It’s really awesome can you send me an email and let me know?

    Gerald Clarke

    October 25, 2011 at 12:31 PM

    • The overall template design is a WordPress template that I chose because it had a clean, uncluttered design.

      The day to day blog design originates in my head. I use the basic techniques I learned through the years doing newspaper paste up. Browse newspaper layout and design books in a bookstore, library or on the Internet and you get a basic feel for design.

      For instance, newspapers in the 1800s up to about the 1930s were narrow columns of type that seemed arranged in a hodge-podge collage format. People were voracious readers and letter writers, so the narrow columns were probably just accepted as overall layout. Plus, the technology of the time using the little lead characters first that had to be set in trays backwards to print type forwards on the sheets that became newspapers wouldn’t have allowed much flexibility in design.

      Newsprint paper has always been expensive so cost would also have been a factor. When I first started working on military newspapers we were still using pica poles and whiz wheels to determine the width of copy and how big you could size a photo into the text.

      By the end of World War II, American newspapers had more eye appeal. They had gotten accustomed to using photographs instead of hiring illustrators to supply line art for the newspaper stories.

      In the 1970s, someone got newspapers hooked on the idea of rounded corners.We would try to put down lines on tape on to the newspaper dummy pages and use our exacto knives to try and create rounded corners for boxes in newspapers. By the 1980s, everyone – “hallelujah” – had finally gotten burned out on the rounded corners and that design elment was a fad of a decade.

      The one great idea of the 1970s that survived – Creative Use Of White Space. Don’t be afraid to leave some white space or “air” around your text or photos so that the layout appeals to the eye.

      The early newspaper desktop publishing programs of the 1980s and 1990s really gave newspapers flexibility in overall layout and design. Digital cameras really helped out because I was usually a klutz in the darkroom. I always had problems trying to get the film out of the 35 millimeter film cassette and on to a stainless steel roll to drop in a developing tank.

      In my opinion, books on newspaper layout and design is a good starting point to learn overall blog design Plus the daily and Sunday newspapers can give you overall design and layout ideas.

      Good Luck

      Sam

      samwarren55

      October 27, 2011 at 3:10 AM


Leave a Reply

