Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

Massive Moving Sale Idea – Toy Box for Kids

with 6 comments

by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

All the unsold merchandise has been returned to storage.  The Weiser Tent Service, of Monett, Missouri came and got the big top.  Now, that a day or so has passed, I have had time to reflect on what worked and what did not.  Overall, I believe the sale was an outstanding success.  I would like to take this opportunity to thank all the shoppers who came to our massive moving sale.

My wooden crate toy box in August offered kids the chance to dig into the box for a toy. But, there were not that many kids at the yard sale. Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

Back in August, when we decided to have a yard sale, I noticed my old wooden crate toy box.  As a young boy in Houston, Texas, I had thrown my toys in the crate.  I had an imagination and I played hard with many of the toys.  I stressed tested many of the toys to the limit.  The toy box from the garage in Texas only represented a fraction of the toys that made the trip to Missouri and ended up in storage.  Toys, other than mine. found their way into the toy box.

I looked at the old toy box and wondered if kids in the 21st Century of 2011 were as curious as a boy of the 20th Century back in the late 1950s.  Before I started school, I would dig in the box in the garage and play for hours with the hodge podge of various toys from plastic cars to green army men.

I had noticed at garage sales and yard sales that I had been to that if there were no toys to interest children, then, parents weren’t always able to concentrate on browsing all the items.  I wondered if the big toy box setting out in the open would occupy children’s interest, while their parents and grandparents shopped.

Not to sound like a bureaucratic number crunching bean counter, but August didn’t provide very much in the way of data because the majority of the grown up shoppers came without their kids.  September was a different story.  I was ready to put out the toy box and watch to see if kids would dig into the toy box.

“Junior, I sold your toy box,” said Donna, my cousin, on the first day fo the Massive Moving Sale.  I freaked !  My eyes went wide.  I felt my mouth drop open.  “I hope you don’t mind.  A lady wanted the wooden crate, so I sold it.  Your toys though I put in another box,” explained Donna.

I took a deep breath and smiled.  Now, I could carry on my experiment and see if kids even paid attention to the toy box.

Friday, I came up with the idea to put my Star Trek dolls on a table and place them where cars going by would see them.  Later that afternoon, a long, big, yellow Galena school bus sped past enroute to Abesville.  I noticed a multitude of tiny faces pressed against the window glass and staring out at the dolls and the tent.  After school, some parents stopped by with their kids and when I told the child to pick a toy they wanted out of the toy box . . . I didn’t have to tell any child twice.

The kids dug through the toy box with the exuberance of an archaeologist and the discerning eye of a Rodeo Drive shopper.  I had worried that I did not have any toys that would interest little girls.  However, through the years, some girls had left toys around here that found there way into the toy box.

In September for the Massive Moving Sale, my toys ended up in an old computer box. The kids that came with their parents and grandparents dug into the box like frenzied shoppers at A Day After Thanksgiving Christmas Shoppers Sale. Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

Judging from the kid’s expressions, they  enjoyed being able to get a toy.  It doesn’t get any cheaper than, “Free !”  Everyone loves a bargain, even a kid.  It seemed they also enjoyed digging through the toy box to see what they could find.  My analysis may not be scientific; but, being a kid at heart – I believe the idea worked.

Sam

Enhanced by Zemanta
6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice !

    Emad

    September 15, 2011 at 12:42 PM

  2. […] = ''; } How to Make Money on CraigslistDo You Have Yard Sales?Massive Moving Sale Idea – Toy Box for Kids // /* […]

    • In my Moving Sale, the Toy Box was basically an attention getter to keep kids browsing while their parents and grandparents browsed. Most of my toys had seen better days. Cars without wheels, a plastic model car that had the top hood and trunk, but both fenders gone. Usually I would give a toy to the child just for taking the time and effort to dig through the box. The idea seemed to work because while the child was digging through the box, mom, dad, or grandparents had found an item they wanted to buy.

      If I was a kid at a yard sale trying to sell toys out of my toy box, I would probably take the good toys out of the box and set them on a table to sell. The small toys I would put in a Ziploc bag and put the price on them. But, I would recommend the kids sell their toys as part of mom, dad or grandparents yard sale, rather than trying to set up a yard sale of their own.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      September 18, 2011 at 12:29 PM

  3. great idea.!

    Daniella Smith

    September 17, 2011 at 8:41 PM


Leave a Reply

