Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

Massive Moving Sale – D-Day – September 8, 2011

with 6 comments

Massive Moving Sale – September 8, 2011 After Action Report

 

Come One,

Come All,

To The

Greatest Moving Sale On Earth !”

 

by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

Like a circus ringmaster, I had an appointment under the big top today. When I was a child I looked forward every year to the school field trip to the Shriner’s Circus at the Shrine Mosque in Springfield, Missouri. The ringmaster would always step into the center ring and introduce the acts that would enter one of the other rings or would travel around the outside ring.

 

Massive Moving Sale Look for the Big Top tent, three miles east of Galena, Missouri.

Our performance would begin at 8 am. I finished my first cup of coffee and picked up a sign and a rock hammer and strolled up State Highway 176 toward Galena. Once I found the spot, I drove the sign into the ground. Then, I strolled back down State Highway 176 toward Abesville and picked a spot. I drove that sign in the ground.

 

Eddie Thomas, of Elsey, Missouri, was the first customer under the big top this morning. But, the sights and sounds related to those of a yard sale and not a circus. The nice thing about the tent is that it kept merchandise free of the heavy dew that blanketed the grass this morning.

 

This photograph represents just a small selection of the dishware that was available Thursday for purchase at the Massive Moving Sale under the big top. There is still some dishes available.

Donna DeLong, my cousin, and Ken Sexton arrived to work at the yard sale. The day passed quickly and local people as well as some tourists stopped to shop. Christy made certain that we had a wide variety of merchandise and I finished putting some price tags on some items.

 

When the mailman pulled away from the mailbox, I dashed across the road to snatch up my copy of the Crane Chronicle and Stone County Republican to look for my classified ad. One early morning shopper had mentioned she, “had saw it in the newspaper,” so I knew the ad was published, but I had to settle my childish curiosity.

Antique Toy Dealers maybe interested in the rubber cars and trucks that are for sale at the Massive Moving Sale in Galena, Missouri.

 

Steamer trunk open

I had questioned the wisdom of doing a yard sale on a weekday, but Christy had

Black trunk open

remembered that some people work on the weekend and have some days off through the week. Plus, sometimes people stop on the way to work or come by on their lunch hour. While these decisions may seem almost second nature to people in the city, sometimes stopping by on your lunch hour in the country – involves travel time. People with flexible jobs and hours as well as some retired people kept us all busy this morning and this afternoon.

If you need a line on handstiched quilts then check out the Massive Moving Sale, three miles east of Galena, Missouri. The quilts are from east Texas - Simpsonville, Texas. There are some bright colorful afghans available Made In Galena, Missouri. Ladies, there is a selection of reasonably priced handbags and an assortment of shoes. Of course, there are a couple of racks of clothes, which feature apparel for men, boys, women, girls, and there is even some Halloween costumes.

 

The day was a success. Christy and I appreciate each and every shopper, who stopped buy and bought some items. Ken put the large American flag, near the highway, which was waving in the breeze by the red and white topped tent and did give the yard a festival appearance.

Toys for Kids - Kids, while mom and dad shop at the Massive Moving Sale at Galena. Missouri , you, too, get the chance to shop. Dig into the large toy box and find a toy that you can take home.

 

I had a toy box for kids to dig through and try to find a toy they liked. The idea worked well for me because as a kid I always like to dig in my toy box and find that certain toy.

 

Galena, Missouri is not Paramount Studios. Even though Elias Walt Disney was a Missouri boy, country kids had school today and some, no doubt, had chores after school. Thus, Galena doesn’t necessarily have a large science fiction community. Nonetheless, I found my Star Trek mouse pad, a toy phaser, a model of the U.S.S. Enterprise – The Next Generation starship (that I forgot I had because I had lost the box) and added a couple of Star Trek videotapes and some books on UFOs and space to add to my “Star Trek Box.” At the end of the day, I still had the box for sale, so I obviously didn’t have any Trekkers or Trekkies stop by today. Perhaps, tomorrow.

 

I do appreciate the shoppers, who stopped by to browse and buy things today – “Thank You.”

 

Christy is already pointing out things I overlooked today. Thus, we straighten up her “Large Lighted Entertainment Center” and she has reminded me to tell people about it tomorrow. Ken reminded me to tell shoppers that “The Moving Sale is three miles – east of Galena.”

The Large Lighted Entertainment Center features a variety of options for holding electronic equipment as well as displaying collectibles and providing storage for items in one organized central location. This is just one of the furniture items, which include an antique vanity and at least two dressers. And, if you are looking for unusual home decorations, then, there is the three lighted palm trees.

 

At the Massive Moving Sale in Galena, Missouri, this GE refrigerator is available for viewing and purchase.

Christy reminded me about the two twin beds and the full size bed and the refrigerator. Tomorrow is a new day and it sounds like I’m going to have more “moving” to do for the moving sale.

 

In addition to the GE refrigerator that are smaller appliances and housewares from a blender to . . . well. . .dishes.

Time to get air in the tires of the dolly. Guess, I should check and see if that old hand truck needs a cotter pin or if I can wire it on to the axle.

 

Sam

Written by samwarren55

September 9, 2011 at 1:18 PM

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Great blog, did you use wordpress or blogengine? I made few blogs myself 🙂 It takes time but it is worth it!

    horny hot

    September 11, 2011 at 7:17 AM

    • I use word press. I agree, blogs are worth the time yu devote to them.
      Sam

      samwarren55

      September 11, 2011 at 10:47 AM

  2. Judging by how you write, a person feel as if an experienced creator.

    Monster Beats Studio

    September 18, 2011 at 5:05 AM

    • Thank you. I try to write about my experiences and topics that I hope readers will find interesting.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      September 18, 2011 at 12:31 PM

  3. Thanks for this! I’ve been searching all over the web for the info.

    台北租屋

    September 30, 2011 at 9:56 PM

    • My wife , Christy, became the real expert. She remembered yard sales that she had been to. She asked my cousin, Donna, about her yard sales. Then, Christy got busy.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      October 8, 2011 at 2:01 PM


Leave a Reply

