Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

Sound Off To Sam !

with one comment

Stone County, Missouri Military Veterans – Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen, Marines, Coast Guard – Give Me A Shout !

Sound Off

To Sam !

by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

I am a retired United States Air Force Public Affairs Staff Sergeant,  My lifetime calling began when I picked up a pencil – I’m a writer.  My dream was to be a reporter.  I lived the dream.

Thanks to Uncle Sam, I got a blue suit and a paycheck.  I beat feet to the street and chased airplanes with my cameras to put images on film.  I’ve always found people interesting, so I had to become a writer because I enjoy people stories.

Now, Stone County, Missouri is reaching out to all their veterans, who ever donned the fatigues and shined up the collar brass.  Yes, the Stone County Historical and Genealogical Society would like you to be aware of the parade, September 24, On The Square, by the Stone County Courthouse.  If you wish to “Dress, Right, Dress !”  Please by all means, call them at 417-357-6317.

I, Warren the Word Warrior, am trying to make sure the word gets out so that come September 24, all Stone County military veterans can at least say, “I got the word.”  While I’m trying to get the word out to the vets, I would also like to get emails from my fellow retirees.  If you have a story or a war story that you’d like to share, then, please, email me.

I’m trying to contact the Stone County, Missouri veterans, who have something that they want to say that they think a future heir or citizen might like to know.  Jot me an email in 2011 and let’s see if we can’t publish something that a Marine in 2015 will find interesting or an airman in “the year 2525” ( I couldn’t resist the music reference – I hope Air Force airmen still have a sense of humor in 2525) will be amazed that uniforms looked so. . .well . . . uniform.

When I get the email input, my standard operating procedure is to try and contact the person by phone or email to clarify some details  to find splashes of color in our life that seem normal to us, but might seem “cool” or “neat” to someone else.  Then, I tap dance across the keyboard and try to come up with a story that should allow you to step off the page and captivate the reader.

On The Road To Stone County Missouri - The Stone County Historical and Genealogical Society is celebrating Stone County's 160th Anniversary, September 24. The day's activities feature a parade to recognize Stone Countians 90 years old and older. A Call To Arms has gone out to Stone County's retired servicemen and servicewomen to be in the parade. The historical society is actively seeking all Stone County veterans, who wish to join their brothers and sisters in arms to salute their fallen comrades and to honor the men and women on active duty. For more information, call 417-357-6173. Vendors should call, 417-357- 0112. Photo by Retired U.S. Air Force SSgt, Samuel E. Warren Jr.

Once the hard copy looks like something the Library of Congress would be proud to have on their shelves, then, since it is a Stone County story I submit it to The Crane Chronicle and Stone County Republican as part of my Stone County 160th Anniversary Coverage.  Of course, the editor of any and all American newspapers get copy and have deadlines and designated priorities and always limited space, so there is no guarantee that the story will be published in the print of a Real World newspaper.

Military spouses and military children are also welcome to email me and recount their stories.  Uncle Sam knows that if he gets one single person in uniform there is a really good chance that he will eventually”Get Two For The Price Of One” – The Military Spouse, who while that person doesn’t usually wear a uniform they end up “serving” and being caught up in TDYs, TADs and doing “The Duffel Bag Drag” to some interesting places.

And, I know that military children have their own spin on trying to have a childhood amid armored personnel carriers rolling past their on base elementary schools and not being able to pet that nice German Shepard – the U.S. Air Force Military Working Dog.

But, we can submit the copy and see if the presses roll.  If you have a story that you want to tell – email me and we will see  what we can do.  Go ahead, sound off to Sam !

Sam

Written by samwarren55

August 30, 2011 at 12:51 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s been many years, Sam; but I recognized the name and photo immediately. I believe the last time I saw you was in Kansas City in winter of 1977-78; you were in town for your induction physical. Before that, we worked together at KSOZ, the NPR affiliate at what was then The School of the Ozarks. Very good writing and insight. Glad to see you’re doing well. I myself did a big ole swing all the way ’round the world and after 30 years or so, landed back in Taney County. Give an old Army Vet a holler some time. -Brad Melton (417-339-3697).

    Brad Melton

    April 6, 2016 at 11:24 AM


Leave a Reply

