Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

Grandfathers, grandmothers, historians, antique dealers, toy dealers,

with 2 comments

Grandfathers, grandmothers, historians, antique dealers, toy dealers,

Daddy’s Little Wagon

by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

We all have items that help us to identify who we are.  Usually Death and The Grave are the only forces that will ever part us from these cherished items.

A couple of weeks ago, when, my wife, Christy convinced me that sometimes our house felt more like a museum than a home, I reluctantly agreed to search through the storage sheds and see if there was anything that I could absolutely “live without” or that the future civilizations of humankind would not miss as a Smithsonian Institution exhibit.  For now, I’m keeping my Star Trek dolls.

My Star Trek Dolls - I was a "Trekker" from the first episode of "Star Trek." Stationed at Barksdale Air Force Base, Louisiana , in the early 1980s, I bought these Star Trek dolls in the Base Exchange. This crew ended up in my U.S. Air Force household goods from my days as a single "buck" sergeant through my career as a married staff sergeant and had other ports of call from Kadena Air Base Okinawa, Clark Air Base, Republic of the Philippines, Misawa Air Base, Japan, Gunter Air Force Station, Alabama and finally went on my version of active reserve status at Warren Land,Galena, Missouri. Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

In my personal, cloistered, secure “Area 51” sector of storage there stood Daddy’s Little Wagon.  The brown paint of rust had long ago removed any traces of the traditional red color you would expect to find on a child’s wagon.  A Real World symbol of my late father, I had never considered “parting with” the wagon.

Looking in the mirror each morning, I realize there is more salt than pepper in my once jet black hair.  I must admit I am looking “long in the tooth,” even with a close shave to remove the daily whiskers of a man’s age.

The Three Samuel’s Presence in The Real World is winding down.  Joseph Samuel “Mr. Sam” Warren of east Texas, “The First Samuel” of the Warren clan, left this life back in the late 1960s or early 1970s.

The Second Samuel of the Warren clan: Samuel E. Warren, known as “Sammy,” a World War II U.S. Army veteran, of Houston, Texas, left this life in the mid-1970s.

The Third Samuel of this Warren clan is me – Samuel E. Warren Jr., of Galena, Missouri.  And, “Sam.” “I ain’t gettin’ any younger.”  Someday, the sun will rise, and I will no longer be in The Land Of The Living.

I looked at Daddy’s wagon and wished that there was another Samuel Warren to pass it along to in our clan or at least a child, who would play with it until the wheels fell off and the pieces faded into the earth.

I have no biological grand children.  Therefore, a grandfather, grandmother, historian, antique dealer or toy dealer will have to contact me via email for more information about the legacy and possible future of this antique toy.

My Daddy’s Little Wagon – In the field of yellow dog fennel, in southwest Missouri, on Warren Land, sits the childhood wagon of my father Samuel E. Warren. My father had this wagon as a boy in the 1920s in east Texas and the wagon served to help out with yard work at 313 East 26th Street in Houston, Texas in the 1950s before being brought to Galena, Missouri in the early 1960s.  By the 1970s, the wagon was retired from active duty on the farm and placed in storage to await service to future generations of Warrens.  Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. WoW, This is really a great topic & I honestly appreciate with you. I wish, you will describe about it more in your next posting and I am really waiting for that!! Thanks = 29 times! 🙂

    torque wrench

    September 8, 2011 at 6:15 AM

    • Torque Wench,

      Thank you. The next topic is Under The Big Top – how we gear up for this large moving sale.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      September 8, 2011 at 11:00 AM


Leave a Reply

