Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

Ode to Cow Manure – Break out the shovels !

with 2 comments

America’s Election Season is underway – Break out the shovels !

Ode to Cow Manure

by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

Sarge, my loyal farm dog, and I were out strolling a pasture of Warren Land today.  After the Fourth of July holiday, I was still feeling pretty patriotic.  I had taken my camera with me to Galena and gotten some nice “happy snaps” of my fellow citizens enjoying the sunshine and the festivities of the Y Bridge Park on the banks of the James River.

The Fourth of July had been a wonderful day.  I even ended up calling out Bingo numbers.

Now, of course, the holiday is past and life resumes the daily ho-hum of routine.  I grabbed my canteen and camera and decided to stroll out into the pasture.  It had been a couple of days, since I had written any blog posts or posted any pictures so I guess I went to the hills for inspiration.

Sarge likes being my point man.  She made a bee line for the farm pond.  Naturally, this time of year, it  is caked with a bright, light green layer of algae.  But, to Sarge – the Farm Pond is a Public Swimming Pool.  Splash !

I looked at the sunlight coming through the huge trees.  Of course, there is never any shortage of rocks in Stone County, Missouri – and it seems most of them are in my field.

Suddenly, right in front of my cowboy boots, rested a photographic opportunity and an idea for a blog post.

Cow Manure.

Looking at the cow manure, I realized that the elections aren’t that far away.  What is it about cow manure that reminds me of American politicians ?

Could it be that their promises stink to high heaven ?

Cow Manure though does have one obvious benefit over American politicians.  In the long run, cow manure will make a valuable contribution to nature.  It will decay and deposit minerals back into the soil that will help the grass to grow.  When was the last time American politicians made a valuable contributions to their fellow citizens ?

The politicians still haven’t come up with a working Health Care program ?

The politicians still haven’t started bringing the troops home from Afghanistan ?

The politicians still haven’t started bringing the troops home from Iraq ?

The politicians still haven’t tried to bring down gas prices or food prices ?

What are American politicians doing ? Anything ?

I see from various news stories that the American politicians have already started “shoveling their s. . .stuff” for 2012.   But, I haven’t see anything constructive in the way of results.  Fortunately, I have a shovel and a vote and I’m pretty good at using both.

I captured the Cow Manure on the digital media card and called Sarge.  My Mark Twain Moment had begun because I was already writing the cutline to the photo as we made our way through the pasture.

Great American Statesman, that I am, I’m posting this photo here for readers to smile at.  Feel free to download it and email it to your local politicians.  Let them know, you realize it is that time of year when they will be spreading their manure around.  Remind them you have a shovel and a vote.

FREE Photo -- Cow Manure -- If you need a photo to express displeasure or satire, then, this one may be of use. Election Year 2012 is on the horizon. Already candidates from American Political Parties are already begining to "shovel" . . . their propaganda. You might want to keep this photo handy to reply, when the parties begin asking for your opinion or contributions. Feel free to lighten or crop this photo as you need to. Photo by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

Written by samwarren55

July 9, 2011 at 2:27 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ” It will decay and deposit minerals back into the soil that will help the grass to grow.”

    It does a lot more than that. The minerals are secondary. The bulk of a cow pat is organic matter in a form that the soil can use easily, especially if it’s spread around. Mind you, modern cow shit from big farms is more like toxic waste than a natural organic fertilizer.

    Dennis Hodgson

    July 19, 2011 at 2:46 AM

    • Dennis,

      I agree with you to a point. No type of livestock manure is sweet smelling, but, I can’t sign off on “Toxic Waste.”

      Granted, in tight spaces it can cause health problems like “bird manure.”
      But, farmers shovel out their barns. Uncle Richard would shovel the horse and cow manure out of the barn every year. Sometimes a sale barn will “sell” the manure. Horse manure is “Hot” which means if you live in a cold climate and put it around a tree in the fall, then, the tree will get nutrients into Spring. In an open air field, unless you step in it I can imagine “cow manure” being all that toxic, provided, of course, you don’t slip and fall in it. 🙂

      Since I tend to think of “livestock manure” as a form of “natural organic fertilizer”; I’m unclear what you have in mind with that term.

      For the record, the FREE photo offering was intended to be a humorous photo slam at politicians.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      July 19, 2011 at 3:24 PM


Leave a Reply

