Sam I Am Blog

My Newspaper of News, Lifestyle,Culture

Thank You to the Unknown Cemetery Good Samaritan

with 2 comments

Thank You

to the

Unknown Cemetery Good Samaritan

by Samuel E. Warren Jr.

During the Memorial Day Weekend, when I went to the Yocum Pond Cemetery, when I went to decorate the graves I did not remember to take a small American flag to place on my father’s grave.

Thursday,June 2, 2011, I had the chance to go back to the cemetery and found that someone had noticed the Veteran’s Administration foot marker at the end of the grave and had placed a small American flag. My dad served in both, the European Theater of Operations and the Pacific Theater of Operations in the United States Army Signal Corps, during World War II.

I do not know whom the Unknown Cemetery Good Samaritan is, who placed the flag at the marker, but I appreciate that you took the time to place the flag there. Thank you.

Sam

Written by samwarren55

June 5, 2011 at 8:47 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love this post, because it reminds me of the decency in most people. Never had the pleasure of meeting your father, Sam, don’t know if he was handsome or plain, gentle or gruff, a nice guy or not, but I assume the best and I am grateful to him and the hundreds of thousands like him.

    Aleta Curry

    June 25, 2011 at 5:20 PM

    • Aleta,

      Daddy was a good man. He was quiet and easygoing. He grew up in the Texas and Southern culture, which means anyone older than you is always addressed as, “Sir, Ma’am,” and “Mr. Miss, or Mrs.” He was a nice guy – he liked animals and was kind to kids. He was a bad driver. His speeding tickets contributed to the financial coffers of the Harris County- Houston, Texas treasuries. He had a license plate on his truck that read: “Drive Like Hell, You’ll Get There.” The bad driving was really his most unsettling character glitch. He must of wanted to have been an Indy 500 driver.

      I know he was in New Guinea and the Philippines. I don’t know if he served in Australia – I found a World War II era guide brochure in his military tool bag. Thanks for saluting him and the other World War II veterans who served.

      Like you, I like to read about and bump into these “Random Acts Of Human Kindness” from time to time to remind us all that there are good people in the world, who are willing to help out.

      Thank you, Aleta, for taking the time to read the cutline and post your comment.

      Sam

      samwarren55

      June 29, 2011 at 9:51 AM


Leave a Reply

